M–W: 8:30–4:30
Thurs: 8:30–7:30
Fri: 8:30–12:30

(732) 222-8221

910 Oceanport Way
PO Box 370
Oceanport, NJ 07757

Watch Past Meetings



Board Members

Christopher Widdis, Class I
Term Expires: 12/31/2024

Joseph Foster, Class II
Term Expires: 12/31/2025

Councilwoman Cooper, Class III
Term Expires: 12/31/2024

Leslie B. Widdis, Class IV
Term Expires: 12/31/2024

Darren Davis, Class IV
Term Expires: 12/31/2024

John Kahle, Class IV
Term Expires: 12/31/2024

James Whitson, Class IV
Term Expires: 12/31/2025

Michael Dailey, Class IV
Term Expires: 12/31/2025

Kevin Calver, Jr., Class IV
Term Expires: 12/31/2027

David Gruskos, Alternate #1

Term Expires: 12/31/2024

Robert Kleiberg , Alternate #2
Term Expires: 12/31/2025

Planning Board Meeting Schedule

28 May
11 Jun
25 Jun
9 Jul
13 Aug

Planning Board Information

The Planning Board is an eleven member Board (includes two alternate members) who are responsible for generating and updating Oceanport's Master Plan. The Master Plan is a comprehensive plan intended to guide and control the current and long-range development and land use within the Town. The Board serves as a combined Planning and Zoning Board of Adjustment.


Planning Board approval is required prior to the subdivision of land within the Borough of Oceanport as well as for any development involving any new building other than one or two-family dwellings, any new addition to an existing building other than one or two-family dwellings, any change in use of an existing building, any new off-street parking area and any land disturbance involving an area of 1,000 square feet or more, including excavation, soil removal, land filling or site clearance. 

Since the Oceanport Planning Board serves as a combined Planning and Zoning Board of Adjustment pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:55D-25c., application must also be made to the Planning Board for relief from the strict application of the zoning and land use ordinances of the Borough as well as appeals from the decision of the Borough's Zoning Officer.


For information regarding Planning Board matters, email Jeanne Smith at [email protected] or call 732-222-8221.

Board Staff

Board Secretary
Jeanne Smith
[email protected] 

James Whitson 

Board Attorney
Kevin Kennedy, Esq.

Board Engineer/Planner
William White, PE

Borough Planner
Kendra Lelie, PP

Zoning Map